About the Kruger Big Assist

Hockey is more than just Canada’s game. It’s a way for kids, families and communities across the country to come together, share experiences, and be part of something that unites us all.

But hockey can be expensive for many families. The Kruger Big Assist program was developed to help. In 2021, we donated $200,000 to 20 hockey communities across Canada and we are proud to commit to another $200,000* donation in 2022 that will continue to provide financial assistance to hockey families in need.

How the Kruger Big Assist Works

The Kruger Big Assist program will award $10,000* to 15 minor hockey associations across Canada to help provide financial assistance to hockey families in their communities.

These funds will go towards offsetting the cost of hockey registration fees.

Who can Nominate a Hockey Association?

Hockey associations must be nominated by members in their community – people just like you! Whether you are a player, a parent whose child plays hockey, a coach, a volunteer, an individual in the community, or you represent a hockey association, you can nominate a hockey association who you feel deserves to win. See full rules and regulations for more details on association eligibility.

Be part of the Big Assist - Nominate a Hockey Association today!

The Kruger Big Assist is looking for Hockey Associations who will RISE to the challenge of growing the love of hockey with Canadian youth. All you have to do is submit a short story or video that explains how the association demonstrates at least one of the following:

  • REACH those in the community in need of financial assistance
  • INSPIRE youth to fall in love with the sport
  • SUPPORT youth to achieve their dreams through sport
  • ENCOURAGE diversity and inclusion in the community through hockey initiatives
Nominate a Minor Hockey Association here.

Complete rules and regulations here.

How will the winning associations be selected?

All nominations will be validated to ensure that they meet eligibility and nomination requirements and will then be presented to a Judging Committee who will watch or read each story submission and assign points based on a predetermined judging criteria. There will be a total of 15 final winning hockey associations.

The Kruger Big Assist Program Timing

Nominations Close

JANUARY 31, 2022


FEBRUARY 1-11, 2022

Winners Announced

FEBRUARY 14-18, 2022